Musings…

(Fort Point, under the GG Bridge. I have no words to describe the atmosphere but I hope some of it is captured by these images)

I know I have been rather quiet on the blog front this year. I’m still shooting, but as life gets busier and busier, it is just hard to keep up. And frankly, I have more hobbies than one person should legitimately have…

As this economy insists on sucking me dry, I’ve decided I need side work, and I’d like to pursue architectural photography. Ideally I’d love to sell more prints, but that’s an ideal and I have no head for sales.  In my daily life I spend a LOT of time with people, and considering the fact that I’m secretly not a people-person, I’m offically peopled-out. So offering weddings and family portraits are out of the question, although I’ve done them in the past. I love architecture, and as I reflect on the real estate shoots I’ve had in the past, as well as my on-going volunteer work with a small architectural design group, I think that this may be an avenue I’m  suited for, and which will not zap me of my energy for things I really want to pursue.

These are my musings for the evening, and now it’s time for a glass of wine.

P.S.  If you live near me, and need an architectural photographer, consider dropping me a line ;) I’m quick and I’m punctual!

~ by aswirly on July 20, 2012.

13 Responses to “Musings…”

  1. Well given your obvious talent for it, I for one would certainly be advising you to pursue your dreams, and you’ve most certainly done an amazing job in the past. Plus there’s always the positive that buildings don’t run around too much, or moan and whine about the weather, or argue about your angles and such, at least not very often. :) Go for it. Oh, and these are stunning. Love the light A. :)

    • Thanks B. Not sure it’s my “dream” per se… but I do really like the idea that they don’t run around too much, or complain that I didn’t capture their good side ;)

  2. Your images are always so clever, it’s a shame you can’t find more work. Being self employed too, I also know how difficult it is at the moment, I work harder each year for less money and can’t see it changing. However, your idea to find architectural work sounds a good one. I hope it works out and you don’t forget to keep blogging to let us know how you get on, and to share as always your beautiful images.

    • Thank you Keith! I’m assembling my portfolio and then going to search for gigs. Working harder for less money sure doesn’t sound nice, but I’m glad you have constant work. Being self-employed is truly tough.

  3. I hope it works for you!

  4. You’ve got an artistic eye! Keep it up whatever you decide to follow!

  5. Go for it!! You know I think you are talented!!

  6. That first shot is stellar – one of my favs of yours I think. Architectural work sounds like an awesome pursuit, so I hope it works well – just make time for the fun stuff too :)

  7. Architectural photographer…there aren’t many. You will need some lenses and an understanding of building owners and managers.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

