My Concept House in the Woods…

I have been trying to get more proficient at modeling and rendering. I have a loooong way to go, but I’m rather pleased with how this came out. The setting is Armstrong Woods, an old growth redwood forest in northern California. To give you an idea of the scale, this scene is a 7-vertical image panorama.

The house was modeled in 3D using SketchUp. This is an incredible piece of free software. The house, although placed in a 2D image, is actually 3D, with a kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms, and one bathroom. Textures and light were rendered using Kerkythea. Then the rendered image was added to the forest in Photoshop and sunbeams and smoke added. :)

I made all the furniture inside… I know alot of it is not very realistic, but practice makes perfect right? I’ve learned alot since my initial atempts, and for those I used pre-made furniture¬†from the sketchup warehouse. It’s fun knowing that all the elements in this house are my own, albeit imperfect. I hope you like it :)

~ by aswirly on August 2, 2012.

15 Responses to “My Concept House in the Woods…”

  1. It’s beautiful and I certainly admire your determination, intelligence and skill in learning SketchUp and then being so creative with it. An old term, but then I’m an old guy — I tip my hat to you. :-)

  2. Amber, this is remarkable! You encourage me to try something new. :)

  3. That’s amazing! Your eye for detail continues to astound me.

  4. Love it Amber – when can I move in?

  5. Very fun. The round window is great!

  6. You remind me of Frank Lloyd Wright

  7. Wonderful!!! When can I move in?

  8. This is the dream house! Can you send me the the architectual drawings of it;). Wish to see some more rooms. Very Nice Scetch up A!

  9. Well you’ve most certainly come a very long way from your toilet in a box. lol.. Looks pretty amazing to me A. :)

  10. That’s awesome, Amber! (It is fun how you included some of your previous creations/photos, too.). It is amazing how much you have grown.

  11. Very Very cool Amber!

  12. What a gorgeous little hideaway..and such a wonderful rendering! Sketch-up is such fun..isn’t it?

  13. I’d live there! Where’s my studio go?

  14. My kind of home too, but how far’s the nearest shop?

  15. Update: After looking at the top image once again it reminds me to David Hobby’s blogposts about real estate photography with flash! Indeed very nicely done! It looks so nice and clear!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 132 other followers

